Tags

, , , ,

95807516@N00_r

 

I have found that novel experiences are help to produce the fertile soil that encourages the growth of ideas…

Twenty five days straight of mostly 12 hour days, especially in a surreal environment… evokes a lot of feelings… a lot of thoughts…

 

This July (and early August) was the first time in my life that I have ever worked so long without a break.  Even in the military, we had “partial” days… days in which we were “on-duty” for only a few hours and free for our own pursuits the rest of the day…

Add to that the surreal environment of working in home of a family surfeit in wealth, creates a definitively unique experience…

For more than 25 days, I’ve been mostly cutoff from not just “free time,” but social interaction.  Very limited access to high speed internet, had left me Skype-less and otherwise virtually unable to communicate verbally with friends and family.  Thankfully, I had Facebook messenger, Vkontakte (Russian Facebook), and email, or else I would have been completely insulated.  (Oh yeah, you can add to that the fact that most other employees didn’t speak English and my use of Russian was restricted – due to the fact that my charge (student) knows that “I don’t speak Russian.”

Anyways, the end result was I greatly repressed my emotional side… to the point that I almost had a crisis of identity midway through the time period for feeling out of touch with myself…  So I basically, lived everyday acting (and reacting) “how I was ‘supposed’ to act” as opposed to acting in accordance to my own thoughts and feelings…

Anyways, I have made it through, this experience.  Along the way, there were some sparks of inspiration.  During my work period, I didn’t have adequate time to immerse myself in my feelings, but now I do… and I feel that I will want to explore these ideas more fully….

 

HENCE… my summer experience will serve as a “Prelude To A Opus,” as my emotions again have the ability to flow…

