Tags

, , , , , ,

Michelangelo,_Creation_of_Adam_03

 

 

Opportunity is my life’s blood…

 

THIS idea is one of my most treasured values.  I abhor the idea that I, that my life is “stuck in a rut.”

 

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

BUT even more central to my core are these:

BALANCE

There is no perfect choice, all choices have positive and negative outcomes.  The BEST choice is the one that maximizes the positves and mitigates the negative.

… “mitigates” is the better choice than “minimize” since it acknowledges that fact that negatives WILL happen, while minimizes gives hope that they will (somehow) disappear…

CONNECT (To Others)

I find life meaningless if I am simply sitting in the audience, watching as the more engage story unfolds.  I NEED to be a particant in that story…

PRACTICALITY

DO what needs to be done.  Talk is great, but meaningless if action is never taken.

COURAGE  (Do The Risky)

I believe that what NEEDS to be done is EXTREMELY Easy to understand, but where many falter is the LACK OF Courage to do it.

Very rarely can you get REWARD without RISK, but risk-taking needs always to be tempered by evaluation of the result. (“balance”).

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

RELATIONSHIPS – CURRENT STATE

PHILOSOPHIC EXPLANATION

Relationships are VITAL to my existence.  Over my large number of unique and varied experience, I’ve understood that without connection to other people that…

My Life...

despite all of the things I have accomplished, will accomplish, and could have accomplished is MEANINGLESS.

Honestly, sometimes when I see people Struggle to accomplish something, I count them as fools as I observe all of the connections to others that neglect and strain… meanwhile thinking that someday when they get that accomplishment, when they reach “the top,” the pleasure that the receive for themselves will (somehow) surpass the pleasure that they would get from nurturing others…

 

To me, it’s simple math…

People have a finite amount of energy… if you invest all of it in yourself, One Person, you might receive a return… but how much of a return can you get if you invest in different people… especially those you have “screened” as good investments.

 

Diversified investment WILL ALWAYS have the possibility of greater gains in the long term than a Singlular one…

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

CONCRETE EVENTS

For years, I have suffered because try as I might, I have failed to establish meaningful connections with people.  For seven years, I have lived in Moscow and in all that time, I have tried so many different methods to get integrated in significant and meaningful ways with others in this city.

I have many “friends” in Moscow.  There are many who know my name and two or three characteristics about me, but there are but a handful, who know more than that…

In the past, I have lived in a place, where I felt that I had meaningful relationships with people.  There were quite a few people in that place, who I could truly call “friends.”

But up until now, I’ve always had the problem of having to sacrifice “my future” for “present happiness”.
“My future” translates to financial stability or in other words – a good salary.

RECENTLY, I just received a huge opportunity to make a good salary, but also a lot more flexibility during my off time…

(Basically, for everyday I work, I get one day off… so if I work 7 days – I get 7 days off, 14 days on – 14 days off, etc.)

I have decided to take a significant risk.  I want to work and live in two different places.  The place I want to live will (hopefully) give me  the connection to people that I want (need).

BUT the biggest risks are that I become much more dependent on keeping my current job, because if something happens and I can’t continue, it might be harder to find a comparable job in either Moscow, or the city that I have chosen to live…

Ultimately, I believe that every choice involves risk.  I am poised to move into a position in which my work life is satisfactory and my personal life will be awesome…

Maybe such conditions can continue for a number of years… but my own experience has taught me, that life rarely goes as we plan…

